Executive of the Year

Realizing that there are many prominent Hellenic-American executives who have given of themselves to the business, private and public sectors, and who deserve recognition, HABA instituted the Executive of the Year Award in 1992. This award has become a catalyst for our membership and for the larger Hellenic community to reach out and promote our heritage.

During the past 20+ years, HABA has honored:

  • 2022 Dr. Costis Maglaras, Dean of Columbia Business School and the David and Lyn Silfen Professor of Business at Columbia University
  • 2019 Dr. George Handjinicolaou, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Piraeus Bank & Athens Stock Exchange
  • 2018 Mr. Daniel S. Janis, III, Senior Managing Director & Senior Portfolio Manager, Manulife Asset Management (U.S.), LLC
  • 2017 Alexander Navab, Partner & Head of Americas Private Equity, KKR & Co. LP
  • 2016 Maria Vassalou, Partner & Portfolio Manager, Perella Weinberg Partners
  • 2015 Michael Tadross, Hollywood Movie Producer, Warner Bros.
  • 2014 Michael Psaros, Co-Founder & Co-Managing Partner, KPS Capital Partners
  • 2013 Brent Callinicos, Vice President, Chief Accountant & Treasurer, Google, Inc.
  • 2012 John Catsimatidis, Chairman, Red Apple Group
  • 2011 C. Dean Metropoulos, Chairman & CEO, CDM&Co.
  • 2010 Jim Chanos, President & Founder, Kynikos Associates
  • 2009 James Orphanides, President, First American Title Insurance of New York
  • 2008 Panagiotis Tsakos & Nikolas Tsakos, Tsakos Shipping Group
  • 2007 John P. Calamos Sr., Chairman, CEO & CIO, Calamos Asset Management
  • 2006 Paul S. Sarbanes, United States Senator State of Maryland
  • 2005 Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Founder & Chairman, easyGroup
  • 2004 Dora Bakoyannis, Mayor, City of Athens, Greece
  • 2002 Michael D. Capellas, Chairman & CEO, Compaq Computer
  • 2001 Christos M. Cotsakos, President & CEO, E*Trade Group Inc.
  • 2000 John C. Rigas, Chairman, President & CEO, Adelphia Communications
  • 1999 Emmanuel Kampouris, Chairman & CEO, American Standard Inc. (retired)
  • 1998 John. M. Tsimbinos, Chairman, Roslyn Bank Corp.
  • 1997 William S. Stavropoulos, Chairman & CEO, Dow Chemical Company
  • 1996 John A. Georges, Chairman & CEO, International Paper (retired)
  • 1995 Ted Athanassiades, Vice Chairman, MET Life (retired)
  • 1994 The Honorable Peter G. Peterson, former U.S. Secretary of Commerce & Chairman of The Blackstone Group
  • 1993 Nassos Michas, former Chairman Private Banking, Merril Lynch & Co.

Our Mission:

HABA is a professional networking organization that has strived to serve the professional and educational interests of the Hellenic community by sponsoring lectures, seminars, receptions with guest speakers and other events such as book-signings, holiday celebrations and job fairs.

Learn more

Stay up-to-date

Get notified of upcoming events and news from HABA straight to your inbox.